• safeguard and promote the values of the Trust, acting as ‘ambassadors’ for the Trust
  • ensure the Trust acts within its Objectives as set out in the Articles of Association
  • hold the Board to account
  • appoint and (where necessary) remove Trustees
  • receive reports and financial statements


  • set strategic vision, oversight and policies
  • effective governance and decision making
  • set targets for the Chief Executive Officer
  • oversight of standards and educational outcomes
  • review academy performance and budgets

Local Governing Bodies

Every Crofty MAT School is accountable to the Trust Board. A Local Governing Body is perfectly positioned to facilitate this and to ensure that their school can realistically meet the requirements of the Trust.

School governors communicate and work in conjunction with the Board to provide a vital link and additional level of accountability.

Core Role

  • Focus on consistently improving outcomes for all pupils but especially for disadvantaged pupils.
  • Provide challenge and support to leaders at all levels in the school.
  • Monitor the performance and progress of the school, agreeing strategies to achieve continuous improvement and monitoring the School Improvement Plan.
  • Strategic oversight of the curriculum.
  • Take all aspects of safeguarding and well -being seriously and appoint a designated Safeguarding governor.
  • Conduct an annual self- evaluation of the impact and effectiveness of the governing body and the school’s improvement activities.
  • Promote Trust vision, policies and priorities
Members Position
Mr Tim Davies Founder Member
Mr Ian Bruce Founder Member
Mrs Carol Green Founder Member
Mr John Whetter Founder Member
Trustees Position
Mr Nick Lake Trustee and Finance Lead
Mr Mike Hosking Trustee and Chair of Trust Board
Mr John Whetter Trustee
Mr Keith Tipler Trustee
Mr Tom Briant-Evans Trustee
Company Secretary
Mr Jeremy Alder
Chairs of Local Governing Bodies
Mrs Sam Knuckey Illogan
Mrs Barbara McGuire Lanner
TBC Pencoys
Mr Jim Seth Pennoweth
Mrs Elizabeth Gerrish Portreath
Mr Nick Lake Rosemellin
Mr Keith Tipler Roskear
Mrs Kerrie Monk Treloweth
Mrs Barbara McGuire Weeth

Please click the headings below to expand the different Governance document categories: